University of Phoenix Logo
College of Education Central

Common Core

Developed by the National Governors Association (NGA) Center for Best Practices and the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO), the Common Core State Standards Initiative is America’s first common set of educational K-12 standards. Forty-six states, two territories, and the District of Columbia have joined the initiative. States will determine how the Core Standards will be assessed. Assessments will vary across the country though many states are collaborating.

The K-12 mathematics and literacy standards do the following:

  • Align with college and work expectations
  • Are clear and consistent for educators and parents to better assist with student learning
  • Include rigorous content and application of knowledge through high-order skills
  • Build on strengths or current state standards
  • Are informed by other top performing countries, so all students are prepared to succeed in our global economy and society
  • Are evidence-based

Helpful Resources